Fireworks in my heart

I love the Ekka.

Well, really…I love all shows.

It all started with the small country show in my home town.  We were lucky to get three or four rides in sideshow alley but each year I couldn’t wait for May to roll around to head back to the show.  We won’t talk about the year I developed a crush on a ‘carnie’ though… Although a crush at that age basically meant that my spending money was wasted on the Hurricane rather than any other ride.

It seems here in Brisbane when it comes to the Ekka, you either love it or you hate it. The lure of the Ekka strawberry sundae or a dagwood dog just isn’t enough for some people.  I love it all.

Last year, the Ekka was special. It was the last Ekka my husband and I would spend together – just the two of us. I was 34 weeks pregnant.

This year, the fireworks were in my heart!

I didn’t see much of the show last night.  I was too busy watching the joy on the faces of my true loves.

This year, the fireworks were in my heart.

This year, the fireworks were in my heart.

What’s your favourite thing about the Ekka…or do you stay away?

 

 

Leave a Reply

