Do I have a “retro” tv?

Exactly how old does something have to be before it’s called “Retro”?

I don’t like to brag but I have a rather large tv. It’s silver and black with a flat screen.

Most tv’s these days are 50 or 60 inches. Mine is 50 or 60 kilos and is deep as it is wide. I could pretty much use it as a coffee table. Well..actually…I sorta am. There is currently a hat, a magazine, a children’s book and a remote control stored on it!

image

The TV was bought back in 2004 when I bought my first house as a young, single girl. I think it was about $1500 and a little bit fancy with it’s wide screen and flat screen.

10 years on, it is still going strong and we cannot find a reason to get rid of it and upgrade.

When friends laugh at my tv…I could say that I’m concerned with the environmental impact of a throwaway society…or maybe that I’m trying to live a frugal life.

The truth is, we just don’t care. It functions. It’s enough. (Although,I was disappointed I couldn’t see the scores during the Aussie Open this year…the format wasn’t ‘compatible’)

Sometimes we watch a little tv…sometimes we watch a lot. End result is still the same – we hold our own at the water cooler the next day!

All that being said…I won’t be unhappy the day it finally gives up (and neither will the Harvey Normans and Good Guys of this world).

What item at your place won’t get replaced until it’s given up the ghost?

Leave a Reply

